Season’s Greetings from the korfball community

The entire international korfball community sends all of you the sincere Season’s Greetings as well as the best wishes for a healthy and sportive 2014!

IKF Europa Cup 2014 match schedule

The IKF Europa Cup final round, sponsored by ELSCO, 2014 match schedule is published.

Under ‘Upcoming Events’ the IKF Europa Cup 2014 is registered. The pools and match schedule are included in that publication.

IKF Europa Cup 2014 qualifiers known

The last two participants for the IKF Europa Cup final are known after the matches of Saturday 23 November in Croydon (ENG) as well; FJEP Bonson (FRA), Edinburgh City Korfball Club (SCO) did earn the 2 tickets.

The match results are:

  • Cardiff City – Edinburgh City Korfball Club; 9 – 12
  • Edinburgh City Korfball Club – FJEP Bonson; 4 – 10
  • FJEP Bonson – Cardiff City; 16- 3

In Belgrade (SRB) the third qualification ticket was the reward for the winner earlier on Saturday. The winner is: Korfball Club Zemun (Serbia).

Korfball Club Zemun did beat Marmara (TUR) with 14 – 13.

IKF Europa Cup 2014 logo

The next IKF Europa Cup Final Round will be played in Papendrecht, The Netherlands in the PKC venue from Wednesday 15 January 2014 till Saturday 18 January 2014.

Twelve teams will participate in this event.

For the first time in the IKF Europa Cup history this event will have an event and name sponsor. The official title is IKF Europa Cup 2014, sponsored by ELSCO.

The 12 participants are:

  1. Boeckenberg, Belgium
  2. VKC Kolin, Czech Republic
  3. KC Barcelona, Catalonia
  4. Trojans KC, England
  5. SG Pegasus Rommerscheid 1991 e.V., Germany
  6. 1908 SZAC KSE, Hungary
  7. PKC / Hagero, The Netherlands
  8. NC Benfica, Portugal
  9. State University-HSS, Russia
  10. Korfball Club Zenum, Serbia
  11. Y
  12. Z

Two teams (Y, Z) have still to qualify on Saturday November 23rd and will be part of next week announcement.

The event logo shows the liaison between the strength of national and international korfball. KNKV is the biggest IKF member and PKC/Hagero is the biggest club in the Netherlands with nearby 1,000 members.

The IKF Europa Cup 2014 logo is released today.

General information;

Since the 2013 IKF Europa Cup winner, Koog Zaandijk/Hiltex of The Netherlands did not win the Dutch title this year, there will be a new winner of the IKF Europa Cup in 2014.

PKC/Hagero is the Dutch title winner in 2013, making this its seventh appearance in the IKF Europa Cup event.

KC Barcelona, 1908 SZAC KSE and SG Pegasus Rommerscheid 1991 e.V. are first time participants.

The first IKF Europa Cup was played in 1967 in Mitcham, England, with three teams competing, making the 2014 edition of the event the 48th consecutive tournament.

First round IKF Europa Cup 2014

Saturday 23 November, the last three places for the IKF Europa Cup Final Round will be contested in Belgrade (SRB) and Croydon (ENG). Under Events you may find the matches and match times.

First round IKF Europa Cup

Saturday 23 November 2013 there will be matches in Belgrade (SRB) and Croydon (ENG) to decide the last three participants in the IKF Europa Cup Final round in Papendrecht (NED) from 15 – 18 January 2014. Twelve teams will participate.

The matches are:

Belgrade; 1100 AM; Sumice Zenum (SRB)- Marmara (TUR). The winner qualifies.

Croydon; venue Royal Russel

  • 13:30 Cardiff City (WAL) – Edinburgh city korfball club (SCO)
  • 15:00 Edinburgh city korfball club (SC0) – Bonson (FRA)
  • 16:30 Bonson (FRA) – Cardiff City (WAL)

The numbers 1 and 2 qualify.

The IKF Executive Committee

IKF Executive Committee in 2013 as elected after the General Meeting 27 October 2013 in Lisbon (POR).
From left to right:
Mr Frank Buvens (BEL), Mrs Danielle RUTS (BEL), Dr Jan FRANSOO (president) (NED), Mr Gert DIJKSTRA (NED), Mr Graham CRAFTER (ENG), Mr Frans WALVIS (NED)

IKF U21 European Korfball Championship 2014

The IKF U21 European Korfball Championship 2014 will be organised by the Czech Korfball Association (CKA). The first organiser of this event, Turkey, did withdrew. The IKF is pleased with the offer of the CKA to welcome 12 European U21 korfball teams.

The event period will be 6 – 12 July 2014. The city and the venue will be selected on short term.

This period is chosen by the Competitions Committee after consultations by IKF Europe with European countries present during the IKF Congress in Lisbon.

The participants in the IKF European Korfball Championship

In the next IKF European Korfball Championship (IKF EKC) in Maia, Portugal the following 16 countries are qualified for participation.

The first 10 ranked in the last IKF EKC: Belgium, Catalonia, Czech Republic, England, Germany, Hungary, The Netherlands (reigning champion), Poland, Portugal (host) and Russia.

And 6 from the two qualification events; IKF European Bowl Eastern region and Central region; Ireland, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Turkey and Wales.

These are exactly the same 16 nations as participated in IKF EKC 2010.

The Netherlands is the current holder of the IKF European Korfball Championship following the last championship held in The Netherlands in 2010.

IKF European Korfball Championship 2014 logo

As part of the opening session of the IKF World Korfball Congress in Lisbon the IKF President, Dr Jan Fransoo, and Portuguese Korfball President, Mr Mario Almeida under the eyes of Portuguese Secretary of State for Sports, Mr Guerreiro signed the contract and released the for the IKF European Korfball Championship 2014 in 2014 in Maia in the Porto region.


Nothing Found

Sorry, no posts matched your criteria