During the International Korfball Federation Executive Committee meeting on 14 January 2017, the IKF Exco made a draw to establish the pools for the World Games Korfball Event to be held from 21 to 25 July 2017 in Wroclaw, Poland.

The World Games is the most important korfball event in the IKF’s 2017 calendar.

The result of the draw is:

1. The Netherlands Chinese Taipei
2. Belgium Great Britain
3. China Germany
4. Australia Poland

The teams in all four lines were drawn with each set of two teams based on the IKF Ranking from 1 January 2017; CLICK HERE.

Worthwhile to mention, the eternal rivals The Netherlands and Belgium will already meet in the pool phase.

The Netherlands is the current holder of the World Games Korfball title following the last event held in Cali, Colombia in 2013.

The IKF will publish the match schedule for this World Games Korfball event before 15 May 2017.


World Games 2017 qualification criteria

The International World Games Association (IWGA) awarded the next World Games in July 2017 to Wroclaw in  Poland some years ago.

The IKF Council decided on the qualification criteria for the korfball event during the World Games. Again eight national teams participate in the korfbal event. The Netherlands is the reigning World Games Champion.

Which teams qualify?

In principle Poland as the host country qualify. Furthermore any non-European team finishing in the top-11 at the IKF World Korfball Championship 2015 in Belgium qualify.  The other national teams come from Europe.