The International Korfball Federation (IKF) was founded in Antwerp (Belgium) on the 11 June 1933 as a continuation of the International Korfball Bureau established in 1924 by the Dutch and Belgian Associations.

The IKF was officially recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) in 1993 and is affiliated to the Association of the IOC Recognized International Sports Federations (ARISF), the International World Games Association (IWGA) and the Global Association of Internationl Sports Federations (GAISF).

The IKF aims to spread korfball around the globe. It provides sixty nine (69) (as per 9 August 2019) affiliated member countries with financial, material, and structural support to achieve this goal.

The IKF has established a network of contacts in many countries and actively promotes the game by transfering knowledge internationally by exchange programmes and inviting selected korfball players, coaches, and administrators to its training courses in order to create a stable local structure in all 69 affiliated countries – see under IKF Members – on which a flourishing korfball organisation can be built. Keypoint in the IKF Strategy is youth development in all member countries.

The IKF stimulates the global awareness that korfball is a spectator, mixed gender, media oriented and innovative teamsport.

The IKF is organised in five Continental Confederations – IKF Africa, IKF Americas, IKF Asia, IKF Europe and IKF Oceania – since 2011.

The IKF General Meeting is the highest authority in the IKF. The IKF is managed on a daily base by the IKF CEO, who reports to the IKF Executive Committee – 8 members – and the IKF Council – 12 members.


For an elaborate explanation of the IKF organisational structure and responsibilities of committees, click here.


Looking forward to 2021

ColumnJanuary 1, 2021/by
Only 12 months ago, we could not have imagined that the Europa Cup and Europa Shield in January would be the only two international…

IKF Office changed headquarters

Organisational newsDecember 8, 2020/by
The IKF Office changed its headquarters earlier this month. Previously located in Zeist, the IKF Office now moved to the…

IKF Erasmus+ Sport Grant 2021

Organisational newsNovember 6, 2020/by
The IKF is proud to announce that its Erasmus+ Sport 2021 application has been selected for funding by the European Commission.…