World Games Korfball

The next World Games will be in Wroclaw (Poland) from 20 – 30 July 2017. This will be the 10th edition.

Korfball is part of the World Games program again. Korfball is scheduled in the first five days of the event; 21 – 25 July 2017. The first match is Friday 21 July 1330 PM (UTC/GMT + 1) in the WKK Sport Center; Chinese Taipei versus Germany.

The World Games Korfball event is the the major korfball event in 2017 for national teams.

Eight teams will compete to become the next World Games winner: Australia (AUS), Belgium (BEL), China (CHN), Great Britain (GBR), Germany (GER), The Netherlands (NED), Poland (POL) and Chinese Taipei (TPE).

The Netherlands is the reigning champion since the exciting final in Cali, Colombia in August 2013.


The World Games 2017 Korfball match schedule

The match schedule for the World Games korfball from 21 – 25 July 2017 is published. The World Games will be the major korfball event in 2017.

The first korfball match will be Chinese Taipei versus Germany 1330 PM (UTC/GMT + 1) in the WKK Sport Center in Wroclaw, Poland.

The Netherlands is the reigning champion since the previous World Games in 2013 in Cali, Colombia.

China and the host Poland will be first time in the World Games korfball event.

The complete match schedule is:

World Games Match schedule korfball
Friday 21/07 13:30 – 14:45 TPE GER
15:15 – 16:30 NED CHN
19:00 – 20:15 POL GBR
20:45 – 22:00 BEL AUS
Saturday 22/07 13:30 – 14:45 CHN AUS
15:15 – 16:30 TPE GBR
19:00 – 20:15 NED BEL
20:45 – 22:00 POL GER
Sunday 23/07 13:30 – 14:45 AUS NED
15:15 – 16:30 BEL CHN
19:00 – 20:15 GBR GER
20:45 – 22:00 POL TPE
Monday 24/07 13:30 – 14:45 4A 3B
15:15 – 16:30 4B 3A
19:00 – 20:15 2A 1B
20:45 – 22:00 1A 2B
Tuesday 25/07 11:00 – 12:15 place 7 or 8
13:00 – 14:15 place 5 or 6
17:00 – 18:15 place 3 or 4
19:00 – 20:15 place 1 or 2
Medal ceremony


During the International Korfball Federation Executive Committee meeting on 14 January 2017, the IKF Exco made a draw to establish the pools for the World Games Korfball Event to be held from 21 to 25 July 2017 in Wroclaw, Poland.

The World Games is the most important korfball event in the IKF’s 2017 calendar.

The result of the draw is:

1. The Netherlands Chinese Taipei
2. Belgium Great Britain
3. China Germany
4. Australia Poland

The teams in all four lines were drawn with each set of two teams based on the IKF Ranking from 1 January 2017; CLICK HERE.

Worthwhile to mention, the eternal rivals The Netherlands and Belgium will already meet in the pool phase.

The Netherlands is the current holder of the World Games Korfball title following the last event held in Cali, Colombia in 2013.

The IKF will publish the match schedule for this World Games Korfball event before 15 May 2017.


World Games 2017 qualification criteria

The International World Games Association (IWGA) awarded the next World Games in July 2017 to Wroclaw in  Poland some years ago.

The IKF Council decided on the qualification criteria for the korfball event during the World Games. Again eight national teams participate in the korfbal event. The Netherlands is the reigning World Games Champion.

Which teams qualify?

In principle Poland as the host country qualify. Furthermore any non-European team finishing in the top-11 at the IKF World Korfball Championship 2015 in Belgium qualify.  The other national teams come from Europe.